Thursday, January 27, 2011

by Susan Cooper

This is the third book in the Dark is Rising series. It introduces thesiblings from the first book (Over Sea, Under Stone), Barney, Simon and Jane, to the main character from the second book (The Dark is Rising), Will Stanton. I loved watching them meet and seeing the series begin to flesh out. The first two books seemed so disconnected to me and this one really brought it all together.

The kids are all around the same age, (except Barney, the youngest), but as we learned in The Dark is Rising, Will is actually the last of the Old Ones. His character must maintain a delicate balance of appearing to be a normal kid, while at the same time working with the other Old Ones to keep the Dark from rising. I loved his sweet interactions with Jane.

All around, this is my favorite book of the series so far. It wouldn’t be great as a stand alone, but as part of the series I’m now invested in all of the characters and I felt like this book gave me a chance to get to know them better. I especially loved the fact that Jane takes center stage in this book.

The Cornish setting doesn’t hurt either. I’m a sucker for anything dealing with the Arthurian myths and this series provides a great twist. As he was in the first two books, Merriman Lyon remains one of my favorite characters. He reminds me of Gandalf from LOTR. He’s wise and mysterious, while at the same time always providing a sense of security for his friends.

I will absolutely be reading the final two books of this series.


Falaise said...

I've loved this whole series for years and can't understand why it doesn't get more attention.

BookQuoter said...

You have piqued my curiosity!!!

Melissa (Avid Reader) said...

Falaise - I have no idea why this series gets ignored. I'd never heard of it a year ago.

Enbrethiliel said...


I love this series, too! Since I haven't reread it in a while, I can't be as descriptive as I'd like, but I remember being awed by the way Cooper expands the world of magic a little bit in each novel. The first two are about Things of Power, with the second putting more focus on the war between Light and Dark; the third is about a more "green" magic that takes no side in the great war because it is sufficient unto itself. The next book in the series is my favourite because of the way it takes us another step forward. Cooper is more than an imaginative writer; she is a deep thinker!

Melissa (Avid Reader) said...

Enbrethiliel - I've definitely felt my attachment to the series grow with each novel. Cooper really does delve into some serious thinking, while creating great characters at the same time. I can't wait to read the final two!